Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: used
(129 results)



Display: 20

    • NCRPC0829

    • North Carolina Shipbuilding Company
    • The S.S. Northern Light was launched Nov. 9, 1943, as the 99th ship built by the NC Shipbuilding Company. Mrs. J.E. Stewart of the Forest Hills area in Wilmington, was the sponsor. The message featured on the starboard side of the vessel was...
    • Auditorium, the Hammocks (Harbor Island)

    • Wrightville Beach, N.C., Tide Water Power Company, Tide Water
    • Tide Water Power and Light Company built this large red-shingled auditorium in 1916. Since Baptists throughout the state used it for their programs, it was also known as the Baptist Seaside Assembly Building. During World War I, it was used by...
    • Working on the Railroad

    • State Port off Burnett Blvd.
    • Lewis Davis and William Simms beat out a rhythmic sound as they drive spikes into a new section of track at the state port. Watching is supervisor Guy Williams. The workers were setting the "frog," a 4000 lbs piece of the switching mechanism that...
    • Boys Club Reunion

    • Clubs, Wilmington, NC
    • Men who used to be "boys" of the Boys Club on Vance St. from the years 1921-1923 in a group shot remembering their past at the club. This was at their monthly meeting, Monday, June 3 at 6 pm.
    • H.H. Smith to F.A. Olds, May 20, 1904

    • Owen, Barry, Smith, Olds, Civil War, relics, F.A. Olds, Hall of History, NC Museum of History
    • Page 1 of letter in which Henry "Harry" Hungerford Smith responds to Frederick Augustus Olds regarding requests to give relics from the Barry and Owen families to the museum. Smith shares details about what family relics he has in his possession,...
    • Charles Venson Medlin

    • Surf City (N.C.); City councils
    • Black and white photograph used in the newspaper obituary for Charles Venson Medlin. Charles Venson Medlin (1923-1998) was a longtime businessman in Surf City, NC. He was a native of North Carolina, having been born in Nash County. He was an...
    • McCabe-Lancaster House

    •  
    • Beach house built for Harry Lee McCabe (1895-1962), grocer; and wife, Vista Mae Taylor (1902-1982). Until Hurricane Hazel (1954), used variously as summer residence, rental property and apartments. Purchased in 1955by Luke Wilson Lancaster...
    • Home of Mrs. Preston L . Bridgers

    • Bridgers family, 3rd Street, Dock Street
    • Located at 100 South 3rd Street, (and Dock Streets), the home of Mary Bridgers (granddaughter of John Haywood, treasurer of North Carolina and descendant of Richard Eagles whom Eagles Island is named after) and widow of Preston L. Bridgers, son of...
    • John D. Bellamy Building

    •  
    • Commercial building constructed as rental property for John D. Bellamy, Jr. (1854-1942), attorney and U.S. congressman; and wife, Emma May Hargrove (1857-1944), native of Hibernia Plantation, Granville County, NC. Remained in family for forty-five...
    • Opal Herring

    • Wilmington (N.C.); Women
    • Newspaper photograph used in Opal Herring's wedding announcement. Opal Viola Herring (1922-2011) married Edwin Love West at Temple Baptist Church in 1939. She attended Isaac Bear and New Hanover High Schools. She was employed by the State of...
    • Cape Fear River - Eagles Island.

    • Cape Fear River, Eagles Island
    • A freighter passes Eagles Island. Eagles Island is located on the west bank of the Cape Fear River, directly opposite downtown Wilmington. The seven mile long island was named for Richard Eagles, a native of Bristol, England, who was granted a...
    • McClellan Livery Building

    •  
    • Commercial building constructed as rental property for the Hanover Trust Company. First used as stables by W.B. McClellan & Son. Other tenants included a variety of automobile dealerships, repair and upholstery; wholesale feeds and groceries; and...
    • Oyster Roast.

    • Oyster Roast, Spofford Mills
    • Spofford Mill employees enjoy an oyster roast at the sound. Mr. J. Holmes Davis (1883-1969), President of the Mill, is the first man at the right hand side of the middle table. During the War Between the States, the site, where the Delgado...
    • H.H. Smith to F.A. Olds, May 20, 1904

    • Owen, Barry, Smith, Olds, Civil War, relics, Hall of History, NC Museum of History
    • Page 2 of letter in which Henry "Harry" Hungerford Smith responds to Frederick Augustus Olds regarding requests to give relics from the Barry and Owen families to the museum. Smith shares details about what family relics he has in his possession,...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK