Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: three-story
(23 results)



Display: 20

    • CG Cutter Modoc in front of U.S. Custom House

    • Custom House, Coast Guard, Modoc, Waterfront, Cape Fear River
    • U.S. Custom House, 1916 (now known as the Alton A. Lennon Federal Building after a former U.S. Congressman from North Carolina‚Äôs Seventh Congressional District). A U. S. Custom House has been on this site (Water Street, north, between Market and...
    • Orton Hotel

    • hotels, Orton Hotel, theaters, Royal Theater
    • Orton Hotel with three-story wood building beside it where the Royal Theater was later built. Built by Col. Kenneth M. Murchison in 1888. James Walker was the general contractor. In 1896 Col. Murchison leased the building to R.W. Wallace and Co. In...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Train
    • Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly was at one time, the longest railroad in the world. Some years later, that railroad...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Train Yard
    • The railroad's freight rail yards are depicted in this photo. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly was at one time, the...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Train Yard
    • The railroad's freight rail yards are depicted in this photo. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly was at one time, the...
    • Seashore Hotel

    • Seashore Hotel, Wrightsville Beach, Fire
    • Another scene after the fire and destruction of the Seashore Hotel, Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, on 26 June 1919. According to Beverly Tetterton, Wilmington: Lost But Not Forgotten (pages 178-179), a new three-story hotel was erected on the...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad freight yard.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Train Yard
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad freight yard. The freight office of the ACL Railroad dates from about 1900 and is located on Nutt Street, near the Cape Fear River. (Currently [1999] the Wilmington Railroad Museum). The warehouse at left (519 Nutt...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad,
    • Maintenance shop area. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly was at one time, the longest railroad in the world. Some...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad
    • Maintenance shop area. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly was at one time, the longest railroad in the world. Some...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad. Freight yards

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Train Yard
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad. Freight yards. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly was at one time, the longest railroad...
    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Union Station, N. Fourth Street
    • View of the railroad yards from Fourth Street, looking west toward Union Station. Since the mid-nineteenth century, Wilmington had been a railroad town, beginning with the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad, which was organized in 1838, and reportedly...
    • Hasell-Parsley House

    •  
    • William S. Hasell (1780-1814), attorney, editor of the Wilmington Gazette, and founder of the Circulating Library and Reading Room (1809), built here a three-story brick dwelling known as Williams Castle. The present day house was built upon the...
    • South Third Street - 0 block; Market Street - 300 block

    • St. James, Episcopal Church, Churches, Y.M.C.A., Colonial Inn, Colonial Apartments, Third Street, Markert Street
    • The front of St. James Episcopal Church is shown at right. Across Market Street is the Colonial Apartments on the corner, next to the red brick Y.M.C.A. building. Oscar Pearsall (1849-1925), a wholesale grocer, owned the handsome three-story...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK