Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: structure
(89 results)

Display: 20

    • North Front Street - 200 block.

    • N. Front Street, Murchison, Chestnut Street
    • Chestnut Street - 100 block - north side The main buildings are (from left) the first floor of the Murchison Building, (built 1913/1914); the Murchison National Bank-Acme Building (1902) and the tall building to the left, the Cape Fear Hotel...
    • Babies Hospital - Wrightsville Sound.

    • Babies Hospital, Hospitals, Wrightsville Sound
    • Dr. J. Buren Sidbury (864-1967), founder of the pediatric hospital, with his nursing staff in front of the original frame hospital building. The structure burned in 1927 and was replaced with a Mediterranean style structure.
    • South Third Street - 0 block; Market Street - 300 block

    • St. James, Episcopal Church, Churches, Y.M.C.A., Colonial Inn, Colonial Apartments, Third Street, Markert Street
    • The front of St. James Episcopal Church is shown at right. Across Market Street is the Colonial Apartments on the corner, next to the red brick Y.M.C.A. building. Oscar Pearsall (1849-1925), a wholesale grocer, owned the handsome three-story...
    • William A. French House

    • William A. French (1835-1907), a boot and shoe merchant, lived on this site. On May 10, 1871, fire destroyed the original structure. In November 1871, Mr. French completed the present structure; the plans drawn by Alex Strausz. The property...
    • Mosley House

    • Some interior framing and architectural features survive from early structure built for William Mosley (1812-1895), businessman; and wife, Margaret Mills (1824-1870s). Enlarged and altered in Queen Anne style when inherited by Levi McKoy Mosley...
    • McCabe-Lancaster House

    • Beach house built for Harry Lee McCabe (1895-1962), grocer; and wife, Vista Mae Taylor (1902-1982). Until Hurricane Hazel (1954), used variously as summer residence, rental property and apartments. Purchased in 1955by Luke Wilson Lancaster...
    • Robert R. Bellamy Building

    • Commercial structure built as rental property for Robert R. Bellamy (1861-1926), owner of wholesale drug business and officer of Delgado Cotton Mills. Originally constructed as a boot and shoe store; later occupied by clothing stores and jewelers....
    • North Front and Chestnut streets, looking north.

    • N. Front Street, Chestnut Street, Murchison Building, Feast of Pirates
    • At eleven stories, the Murchison-First Union Building is the tallest structure in Wilmington. Built 1913-1914, Wilmington native, Kenneth M. Murchison (1872-1938) of New York, was the architect for the Neoclassical Revival building, which...
    • St. James Episcopal Church (Present)

    • churches, Episcopal churches, Wilmington
    • St. James Parish was established by the General Assembly of the Colony of Carolina in November, 1729. In 1741, the parish was divided, with St. James Parish on the East side of the Cape Fear River and St. Philip's on the West side. The construction...
    • Princess Street - 300 block.

    • Princess Street
    • View of the north side of the 300 block of Princess Street, with the entrance to Thalian Hall at left. Note house on the corner of the 100 block of north Fourth Street, which was owned by Sarah Bowden. The pavement of Princess Street is made of...
    • Piner-McFarlane Building

    • Commercial structure built along automobile row for Thomas Deveraux Piner, Sr. (1888-1969) as tire vulcanizing plant. From 1922 accommodated automotive garage, sales, and supplies. Purchased in 1944 by George McFarlane, Sr. (1895-1989), who...
    • Another Front View, First Presbyterian Church

    • churches, First Presbyterian Church, Third Street, Orange Street
    • The First Presbyterian Church has been plagued by at least three fires in its history. Dating from 1818, the first church was located in the 100 block of South Front Street between Dock and Orange streets. It burned in 1819 and another church was...
    • Parmele-Williams House

    • Interior framing and roof survive from early structure built for Anthony Adrian Wanet (1782-1871), native of France, merchant and planter. Purchased in 1868 by Sarah A. Bailey (1832-1916), wife of Charles H. Parmele (1828-1870), grocer. Altered in...
    • Bystanders Watch Volunteer Firefighters

    • CFCC, students, Wilmington, NC
    • Bystanders pulled up a handful of chairs as volunteer firefighters trained inside a condemned house. Following a day inside the structure fighting fires, the Cape FEar Community College fire training instructors allowed the house to burn. This...
    • St. Andrews-on-the-Sound Episcopal Church.

    • St. Andrews Church, Churches, Wrightsville Avenue, Oleander Drive, Airlie Road
    • Today, located at the intersection of Wrightsville Avenue, Oleander Drive and Airlie Road, the church is the successor to Mount Lebanon Chapel located on the Airlie grounds. The present building was consecrated in 1924 and is in the Spanish Mission...


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search