Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: stone
(42 results)



Display: 20

    • Hashagen House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built for Frederick Ernest Hashagen (1855-1932), partner in firm of Vollers & Hashagen, wholesale grocers; and wife Minnie Gardner (1862-1920). Purchased in 1931 for rental use by neighbor, Robert R. Stone (1866-1955),...
    • River Traffic

    • Cape Fear River, Fishing Boat, Tugboat, Stone Towing Co.
    • A view of Norman "Drop" Bass maneuvering his fishing boat in front of a tugboat owned by the Stone Towing Co.
    • Oakdale Cemetery - Monument of Henry Bacon.

    • Oakdale Cemetery, Cemeteries, Graves, Henry Bacon
    • Monument is to Henry Bacon (1866-1924), who spent his childhood in Wilmington while his father, Henry Bacon, Sr. (1822-1891), was the chief engineer for the "Rocks", a Federal navigation project (begun in 1875) to close New Inlet near Federal...
    • Ballast Stone from the Site of Solomon Towers

    • Wilmington, New Hanover County, North Carolina, low-rent housing, historic houses, Cape Fear River, Castle Street, Wilmington Housing Authority
    • Closeup photo of a man's hands holding a ballast stone with the year 1761 etched into it. Artifact found at the Newkirk House which was at 511 Surry St. The current site of Solomon Towers.
    • Alfred Hargrove Monument - Pine Forest Cemetery.

    • Pine Forest Cemetery, Cemeteries, Hargrove, Monument, Blacksmith
    • Alfred Hargrove (1819-1898) was an African-American blacksmith, who practiced his trade in Wilmington for over fifty years. After his interment, his anvil was placed on a granite stone at his grave. The hammer, which he used, was welded to the...
    • Portrait of James Walker, Architect

    • Walker family, Architects, Builders, Philanthropists, University of North Carolina at Wilmington, portraiture
    • This portrait of James Walker can be found hanging on a wall at UNC-Wilmington. James Walker, (1826-1901) was born in Scotland and came to the U.S. (New York), with his brother at the age of 12. He started out as a stone mason, then later moved to...
    • Portrait of James Walker

    • Walker family, Architects, builders, philanthropists, University of North Carolina at Wilmington, portraits
    • Portrait of James Walker now hanging on wall at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. James Walker, (1826-1901) was born in Scotland and came to the U.S. (New York), with his brother, at the age of 12. He started out as a stone mason,...
    • Post Office Park - Corner, North Second and Chestnut streets.

    • Post Office Park, N. Second Street, Chestnut Street, Murchison Building, Cape Fear Hotel, Cape Fear Club, Post Office
    • At left is the old stone post office, with the Murchison Building towering in the background. The tops of the Murchison Bank/Acme Buildings, the Morning Star Building and the Friendly Cafeteria are from left to right on Chestnut Street. The Cape...
    • Home of Mrs. Preston L . Bridgers

    • Bridgers family, 3rd Street, Dock Street
    • Located at 100 South 3rd Street, (and Dock Streets), the home of Mary Bridgers (granddaughter of John Haywood, treasurer of North Carolina and descendant of Richard Eagles whom Eagles Island is named after) and widow of Preston L. Bridgers, son of...
    • Pulliam House

    •  
    • Shingled cottage built for Stone Cowan Pulliam (1892-1979), insurance agent and secretary of board of fire underwriters; and wife, Lucille Erambert Skinner (1892-1973). Remained in family for fifty years.
    • Post Office Park

    • Post Office Park, Post Office, Murchison Building, Cape Fear Hotel
    • At left, buildings line Post Office Alley. The stone post office, with the Murchison Building is at center. The side of the Murchison/Acme Building and a portion of the Cape Fear Hotel is at left.
    • North Front Street - Blocks 100 and 200.

    • N. Front Street, Parade, Armistice Day, Murchison
    • Military parade marches south on Front Street, possibly an Armistice Day celebration. Old stone post office (built 1889-1891) was on the southeast corner of Front and Chestnut streets. In the background is the Murchison National Bank/Acme Building...
    • Quince Building

    •  
    • Warehouse constructed by 1835 for the Quince family. During the Civil War occupied by auctioneers who sold goods brought into the port by blockade runners. Remained in Quince family until 1883. Purchased in 1910 by R.R. Stone and remained in family...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK