Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: residence
(105 results)



Display: 20

    • Manning-Toon House

    •  
    • Built by Edward W. Manning, Commander of Steamer General Howard, as his residence. In 1872 sold for residence to Benjamin J. Cobb, M.D., who had office in separate building in northwest corner of front yard. Purchased in 1880 by William Pinckney...
    • W.I. Gore House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built as residence by William Iredell Gore (1829-1903); and wife, Rachael Litchfield (1833-1914). He was a wholesale grocer, commission merchant and during the Civil War, an officer in the Waccamaw Light Artillery. Saved...
    • Lazarus House Kitchen

    •  
    • Built by Aaron Lazarus (1777-1841), a merchant and native of Charleston, SC, as one of two kitchens for his principal residence which still stands to the East. Converted to a residence by 1889. Purchased and enlarged in 1923 by Aaron Goldberg,...
    • Baptist Hill House

    •  
    • A Baptist meeting house occupied this site as early as 1825. Front Street Baptist Church was constructed here in 1837 and served the congregation until 1866. Converted to residence when sold to John F. Stolter (1840-1903) and John M. Bremer...
    • McCabe-Lancaster House

    •  
    • Beach house built for Harry Lee McCabe (1895-1962), grocer; and wife, Vista Mae Taylor (1902-1982). Until Hurricane Hazel (1954), used variously as summer residence, rental property and apartments. Purchased in 1955by Luke Wilson Lancaster...
    • Southport, NC - Brunswick County, NC.

    • Smithville, Southport, Brunswick County, Brunswick Hotel, Quarantine Service Station
    • Incorporated in 1805, the Town of Southport was formerly known as Smithville, and was named for General Benjamin Smith (1751-1826). The name was changed in 1889, because it was the most southerly seaport in North Carolina. It became the county seat...
    • Chadbourn-Donnell House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built as rental property for J.H. Chadbourn & Co., lumber mill. Residence of James Hill Cowan (1878-1924), editor of Wilmington Dispatch, and mayor of Wilmington, 1921-1924. His wife, Katherine Mayo (1883-1975), filled his...
    • McLaurin House

    •  
    • Late Greek Revival style coastal cottage, built as residence for John McLaurin (1832-1907); and wife, Catherine Blanks (1836-1902). McLaurin was a commission merchant and owner/editor of the North Carolina Presbyterian. Residence of daughter,...
    • Mary Jane Langdon House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built for Mary Jane Halsey Langdon (1799-1883), widow of Samuel Langdon (1786-1832), merchant, to replace residence that burned. Inherited by granddaughter Jane Young (1849-1930), and husband, Thomas D. Meares, C.S.A....
    • Agostini House

    •  
    • Built by Francis Marie Agostini (1814-1887) as his family residence. Native of Vastia on the Island of Corsica, he came to Wilmington in 1843 and became a well known confectioner. House is still occupied by direct heirs.
    • Larkins House

    •  
    • Family residence of William Larkins (1829-1891), Wilmington native, wholesale grocer & liquor dealer, cashier of First National Bank, and rice planter. House sold in 1903 to Samuel Behrends, merchant and furniture store owner, in whose family it...
    • A.M. Wilson House

    •  
    • Colonial Revival style house built as residence for Captain Alexander M. Wilson, Sr. (1851-1914); and wife, Ellen Nora Piver (1857-1911). At age 12, he enlisted in the Confederate Army and was engaged in the battle of Fort Fisher. He later became a...
    • McGhee House

    •  
    • Residence built for Henry McGhee (1869-1918), cook; and wife, Elizabeth Whitehead (1873-1931). Three of their eleven children remained in the house after their parents deaths: Hettie, a seamstress; Mozelle, a Peabody School teacher; and Lisbon...
    • Cassidey-Harper House

    •  
    • Built as family residence by James Cassidey (1792-1866), native of Salisbury, MA, who with his sons operated an extensive shipyard and marine railway at river below house. Confederate ironclad RALEIGH was constructed there. His daughter, Anne E....
    • Gooding-Lawton-Grant House

    •  
    • Built by F.J. Gooding, superintendent of Hilton Lumber Co., as investment property. Sold in 1905 to Florence V. Lawton (1856-1924) who resided here with her sister, Anna Lawton Grant (1858-1942) and her husband, Richard H. Grant (1845-1912), master...
    • Strange-Simmons House

    •  
    • Rental house built for Florence Rogers Strange (1865-1953), widow of Thomas Wright Strange (1855-1899). Altered to duplex by Byron R. Simmons (1896-1972), interior decorator; and wife, Frances Lewis (1896-1988). For thirty-two years, first floor...
    • Evans-Mercer-Tusch House

    •  
    • Originally a one-story cottage built for Henry C. Evans (1832-1896), native of Brunswick County. Enlarged to two-stories in 1906 by nephew, John Bascom Mercer (1855-1913), of the shoe firm Mercer & Evans; and wife, May Lilly (1869-1935), native of...
    • Wooster House

    •  
    • Greek Revival style house built by John Wooster (1791-1869), native of Connecticut, dry goods merchant with Wooster, Anderson and Company; and wife, Lucy A. Wright (1801-1864). Inherited by son, Capt. John L. Wooster (1831-1885), attorney,...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK