Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: number
(57 results)



Display: 20

    • North Front and Chestnut streets, looking north.

    • N. Front Street, Chestnut Street, Murchison Building, Feast of Pirates
    • At eleven stories, the Murchison-First Union Building is the tallest structure in Wilmington. Built 1913-1914, Wilmington native, Kenneth M. Murchison (1872-1938) of New York, was the architect for the Neoclassical Revival building, which...
    • North Front Street - 200 block.

    • N. Front Street, Murchison, Chestnut Street
    • Chestnut Street - 100 block - north side The main buildings are (from left) the first floor of the Murchison Building, (built 1913/1914); the Murchison National Bank-Acme Building (1902) and the tall building to the left, the Cape Fear Hotel...
    • Murchison Building

    • Murchison Building
    • At eleven stories, the Murchison-First Union Building is the tallest structure in Wilmington. Built 1913-1914, Wilmington native, Kenneth M. Murchison (1872-1938) of New York, was the architect for the Neoclassical Revival building, which...
    • Rev. Dr. Abram David Pollock Gilmour

    • First Presbyterian Church (Wilmington, N.C.)
    • Portrait of Reverend Dr. Abram David Pollock Gilmour. Abram David Pollock Gilmour (1876-1948) was born in Helenburgh, Scotland. He came to the United States with his family as a child, and they settled in Virginia. Gilmour attended Hampden-Sydney...
    • Castle Hayne - Flower Farm

    • Castle Hayne, Flower Farm, MacRae
    • Located in northern New Hanover County, Castle Hayne was named for Captain Roger Haynes (died before November, 1739), who owned a colonial plantation in the area. Around the turn of the twentieth century, Hugh MacRae (1865-1951), a local developer,...
    • St. James Episcopal Church Graveyard.

    • St. James Episcopal Church, Churches, Cemetery
    • Southwest corner of Fourth and Market streets. Located on the southwest corner of Fourth and Market streets (Block 154), the earliest mention of St. James' Graveyard was in 1781, during the British occupation of Wilmington, although a portion of...
    • Tinga Nursery - Bulb Farm - Castle Hayne.

    • Tinga Nursery, Nursery, Bulb Farm, Castle Hayne, MacRae
    • A native of Sappmeer, Friesland, The Netherlands, Eelco Tinga (1882-1973) was one of the immigrants who Hugh MacRae brought to the Castle Hayne area. Located in northern New Hanover County, Castle Hayne was named for Captain Roger Haynes (died...
    • Blueberry Farm - Huntington.

    • Blueberry Farm, Blueberries, Huntington
    • A native of Sappmeer, Friesland, The Netherlands, Eelco Tinga (1882-1973) was one of the immigrants who Hugh MacRae brought to the Castle Hayne area. Located in northern New Hanover County, Castle Hayne was named for Captain Roger Haynes (died...
    • Bellevue Cemetery.

    • Bellevue Cemetery, Cemeteries, Graves
    • The cemetery, incorporated in 1872, is located on Princess Place Drive (formerly the Old New Bern Road), west of Burnt Mill Creek, and contains about fifteen acres. The date of the first burial is unknown, but by April of 1878, there appears...
    • Simeon Archibald Schloss

    • Theatrical managers; Theaters
    • Studio portrait of Simeon A. Schloss. Simeon Archibald Schloss (1865-1913) was born in Virginia. He was the son of Bavarian immigrants who owned several hotels in Raleigh, Salisbury, and Wilmington, NC. Schloss worked in a number of different...
    • Barbara Marcroft Collection, 1961-1990

    • Marcroft, Barbara Miller, -- 1922-2003; Scene magazine -- Periodicals; Bulletin - Cape Fear Historical Society -- Periodicals; Wilmington, magazine of the Lower Cape Fear -- Periodicals; Wilmington home magazine -- Periodicals; Pamphlets --...
    • This collection contains materials collected by Barbara Marcroft over a number of years. The collection includes magazines, newsletters, and pamphlets that were published by organizations in Wilmington and the surrounding area. Box 1 contains Scene...
    • Princess Street - 200 block.

    • Princess Street, Feast of Pirates, Robber's Row
    • The north side of the block contains a number of business establishments of interest. The Barrel Cleaners was owned by Tassie N. Costello, a native of Greece, who continued at the same location until the 1970s. Next to the cleaners is the Wilder...
    • Pembroke Park

    • Pembroke Park, Pembroke Jones, Park, Landfall
    • Pembroke Jones’ Lodge and Garden with gazebo (Now the site of Landfall). Pembroke Jones (1858-1919), a native of Wilmington, spent much of his time in New York and Newport, RI, but he always returned to the city of his birth. In 1902, he purchased...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK