Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: destroyed
(68 results)



Display: 20

    • Firemen

    • Wilmington (N.C.); Fires; Fire departments
    • Group of Wilmington, NC Firemen on Front Street after the Great Fire of 1886. On February 21, 1886 the steamer "Bladen" arrived from Fayetteville, NC already on fire. It landed at the Wilmington waterfront, catching the nearest buildings on...
    • Portrait of James Walker, Architect

    • Walker family, Architects, Builders, Philanthropists, University of North Carolina at Wilmington, portraiture
    • This portrait of James Walker can be found hanging on a wall at UNC-Wilmington. James Walker, (1826-1901) was born in Scotland and came to the U.S. (New York), with his brother at the age of 12. He started out as a stone mason, then later moved to...
    • Moores at Wrightsville Beach

    • Moore, Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Ocean Avenue
    • Florence Kidder Moore and her daughters, Florence Moore Dunn and Margaret (Peggy) Moore Perdew pose among sea oats on a sand dune in front of the Moore cottage on Ocean Avenue at Wrightsville Beach. Ocean Avenue is no longer there, lost to severe...
    • Orton Hotel

    • hotels, Orton Hotel, Murchison
    • Orton Hotel was built by Col. Kenneth M. Murchison in 1888. James Walker was the general contractor. In 1896 Col. Murchison leased the building to R.W. Wallace and Co. In 1900 the rooms were 2.50-3.50 per day. The hotel was destroyed by fire in...
    • Bradley-Green Building

    •  
    • Commercial building erected for George H. Bradley (1805-1880), native of New Haven, CT, boot and shoe merchant, after devastating fire of 1840 that destroyed much of block. From 1910 to 1963 this was the location of Greens Drug Store, operated by...
    • Graveside Marker, James Walker, Oakdale Cemetery

    • Walker Family, Cemeteries, Wilmington, Architects, Builders, Gravestones
    • James Walker, (1826-1901) was born in Scotland and came to the U.S. (New York), with his brother, at the age of 12. He started out as a stone mason, then later moved to Washington D.C. to help work on the Capitol and the Smithsonian Institute,...
    • First Church of Christ Scientist

    • churches, Christ Scientist, 17th Street, Market Street, Temple Baptist Church, Baptist churches
    • The First Church of Christ Scientist, located on the Southeast corner of 17th and Market Streets, was constructed in 1907. The first congregation was organized by Mary Bridgers (1866-1910), a devout founding member who purchased 32 acres of land on...
    • Another Front View, First Presbyterian Church

    • churches, First Presbyterian Church, Third Street, Orange Street
    • The First Presbyterian Church has been plagued by at least three fires in its history. Dating from 1818, the first church was located in the 100 block of South Front Street between Dock and Orange streets. It burned in 1819 and another church was...
    • Orton Hotel

    • hotels, Orton Hotel, theaters, Royal Theater
    • Orton Hotel with three-story wood building beside it where the Royal Theater was later built. Built by Col. Kenneth M. Murchison in 1888. James Walker was the general contractor. In 1896 Col. Murchison leased the building to R.W. Wallace and Co. In...
    • Orton Hotel Fire

    • hotels, Orton Hotel, fires
    • Orton Hotel in downtown Wilmington, N.C. was built by Colonel Kenneth Murchison in 1888 and named for his plantation in Brunswick County. The building was destroyed in a fire on January 21, 1949.
    • Portrait of James Walker

    • Walker family, Architects, builders, philanthropists, University of North Carolina at Wilmington, portraits
    • Portrait of James Walker now hanging on wall at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. James Walker, (1826-1901) was born in Scotland and came to the U.S. (New York), with his brother, at the age of 12. He started out as a stone mason,...
    • Side and back view of Williston High School.

    • Williston High School, Schools
    • Designed by Lynch & Foard, Architects, Williston High School opened on January 16, 1931, for New Hanover County African-American pupils. It was the third school to bear the name, Williston, which was for Samuel Williston (1795-1874), a northern...
    • Orton Hotel and the Royal Theater

    • hotels, Theaters, Businesses, New Hanover County, North Carolina, Antique automobiles, Bicycles
    • Photograph of the Orton Hotel and the Royal Theater in downtown Wilmington, N.C. The Orton Hotel was built by Colonel Kenneth Murchison in 1888 and named for his plantation in Brunswick County. The Royal Theater was one door down fron the hotel. ...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK