Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: added
(70 results)



Display: 20

    • Chasten House

    •  
    • Federal style hall-and-parlor house with double piazzas moved to this location and rear shed porch added c. 1850. One-story building added to east side c. 1870. By 1883, residence of Rufus H. Chasten (1862-1897), turpentine inspector and weigher;...
    • Wrightsboro Elementary School

    •  
    • The original one-story brick building constructed to consolidate Acorn Branch, Castle Hayne and Wrightsboro Schools was expanded in 1927. A second story was added in 1939 and a cafeteria built in 1953. Additional classrooms were added in 1963, 1968...
    • St. Johns Lodge

    •  
    • Transitional Georgian-Federal style structure built for St. John's Lodge No. 1, Ancient Your Masons, and shared by Concord Chapter; Masonic mural (c. 1809) remains. Purchased in 1824 by Thomas W. Brown (1803-1872), silversmith and jeweler, who...
    • deRosset House

    •  
    • Greek Revival style house built for Armand John deRosset (1808-1897), physician and merchant; and wife, Eliza Jane Lord (1812-1876). They added the northeast wing in 1854 and the Italianate cornice and conservatory in 1874. Purchased in 1882 by...
    • The Original Babies Hospital

    • hospitals, Babies Hospital
    • Founded on June 6, 1920 by Dr. J. Buren Sidbury (1864-1967), the original wooden building of the Pediatric Hospital burned in 1927. A Mediterranean style replacement was built and a third story was added in 1955-1956.
    • Orton Plantation, Brunswick County, NC.

    • Orton Plantation, Brunswick County
    • A central portion of the mansion at Orton Plantation in Brunswick County on the west bank of the Cape Fear River dates from 1725 and was built by "King" Roger Moore (ca. 1694-1751). It remained in the Moore family for three generations. Other...
    • Rev. Adam Empie, D.D.

    • St. James Church (Wilmington, N.C.); Empie, Adam, 1785-1860
    • Painting of Dr. Adam Empie. Dr. Adam Empie (1785-1860) was known for his erudite, eloquent, and impassioned sermons. He started at St. James Episcopal Church, which was established by the NC General Assembly in 1729, in 1810. He successfully...
    • Edward P. Bailey House

    •  
    • Second French Empire style house built for Edward P. Bailey (1856-1904), native of Sweden and wife, Annie Empie (1858-1915). Mr. Bailey was president of Wilmington Iron Works and a city alderman. Queen Anne style facade added in 1905. Residence of...
    • Ballard-Potter-Bellamy House

    •  
    • Greek Revival style house built for Jethro Ballard (1802-1853), merchant and steam saw mill owner; and wife, Martha P. Nolan (b. 1816). Purchased in 1851 by Samuel R. Potter (1811-1856), planter; and wife, Marion Babcock (1825-1885), who added...
    • Benjamin W. Beery House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built for Benjamin Washington Beery (1822-1892), partner in Cassidey & Beery Shipyard; and wife, Ann Eliza Williams (1827-1865). Served as school and convent of Sisters of Our Lady of Mercy, 1869-1870. Double piazzas added by...
    • Orton Plantation, Brunswick County, NC.

    • Orton Plantation, Brunswick County
    • A central portion of the mansion at Orton Plantation in Brunswick County on the west bank of the Cape Fear River dates from 1725 and was built by "King" Roger Moore (ca. 1694-1751). It remained in the Moore family for three generations. Other...
    • South Front Street - 400 block.

    • S. Front Street
    • The west side of the 400 block of South Front Street (Block 99) contains from left the Thomas H. Smith House (No. 420), the Meares-Bridgers-Kerchner House(No. 416), the Forshee-Sprunt House (No. 410) and the Governor Dudley Mansion (No. 400). The...
    • James Walker Memorial Hospital - Front view.

    • James Walker Memorial Hospital, Hospitals
    • A contractor, James Walker was a native of Douglas, Lanarkshire, Scotland, who came to Wilmington in 1857, after helping to construct one of the wings of the U. S. Capitol Building and the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, DC. He built the...
    • deRosset House - 23 South Second Street.

    • deRosset, S. Second Street
    • The house was built in 1841 by Dr. Armand J. deRosset, III, (1807-1897) in the Greek Revival style. Additions were added in ca. 1854, 1874, and 1914, by Dr. deRosset and a subsequent owner, Carl P. B. Mahler (1874-1956). The Italinate changes were...
    • Burruss-Poisson House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style residence built for Edwin E. Burruss (1829-1887), founder and president of First National Bank of Wilmington and organizer of Clarendon Water Works Company; and wife, Elizabeth Northrop (1855-1887). Northern porch added c. 1912....
    • Williston High School

    •  
    • Begun in 1865 by the Freedman's Bureau as an elementary school for blacks; then operated by the American Missionary Association and named for Massachusettes benefactor Samuel Williston. It became the city's first public school for blacks when...
    • Barker-O'Connor House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built as investment property for E. Gerry Barker (1850-1933), native of Onondaga County, NY, commission merchant; and wife, Alice M. Schonwald (1850-1932). Purchased in 1904 by Major Daniel O'Connor (1834-1925); and wife,...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK