Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Vernacular
(32 results)



Display: 20

    • Wescott Grocery Store & House

    •  
    • Vernacular style store and house built for William Wescott (1840-1896), grocer, native of Brunswick County; and wife, Margaret Glass (1841-1894), native of Nassau, Bahamas. Structure moved back on lot and converted to residence in 1917 for Nathan...
    • Farrior-Taylor House

    •  
    • Vernacular style house built for Sanders Farrior (b. 1854), stiller; and wife, Isabella Henderson (b. 1858). Purchased for rental property in 1897 by John E. Taylor (1858-1925), first assistant to treasurer of City of Wilmington. Remained in family...
    • Greer House

    •  
    • Vernacular style house built for David Jackson Greer (1815-1889), coach trimmer; and wife, Caroline Friou (1822-1897), native of New Bern, N. C.
    • Rankin & Martin Warehouse

    •  
    • Vernacular style warehouse built for Rankin & Martin, naval stores merchants. Purchased in 1889 by Burr & Bailey Ironworks. Acquired in 1902 by Wilmington Towing & Construction Company and occupied by W.B. Thorpe & Company, dealers in coal, wood...
    • Calder-Thorpe Warehouse

    •  
    • Vernacular style warehouse built for Phila Lazarus Calder (1806-1888), who inherited property from her father, Aaron Lazarus (1771-1841). Remained in family until purchased in 1910 by W.B. Thorpe & Company which used this and the adjacent warehouse...
    • Agostini House

    •  
    • Built by Francis Marie Agostini (1814-1887) as his family residence. Native of Vastia on the Island of Corsica, he came to Wilmington in 1843 and became a well known confectioner. House is still occupied by direct heirs.
    • McGhee House

    •  
    • Residence built for Henry McGhee (1869-1918), cook; and wife, Elizabeth Whitehead (1873-1931). Three of their eleven children remained in the house after their parents deaths: Hettie, a seamstress; Mozelle, a Peabody School teacher; and Lisbon...
    • Walker-Warshauer House

    •  
    • Cottage built for Henry B. Walker (1842-1907), porter; and wife, Ellen Hayes (1843-1904). In 1940, purchased for rental property and converted to a duplex by Max Warshauer (1880-1949), native of Lithuania, merchant.
    • Evans-Mercer-Tusch House

    •  
    • Originally a one-story cottage built for Henry C. Evans (1832-1896), native of Brunswick County. Enlarged to two-stories in 1906 by nephew, John Bascom Mercer (1855-1913), of the shoe firm Mercer & Evans; and wife, May Lilly (1869-1935), native of...
    • Mahler Office

    •  
    • Built as real estate office by Carl Peter Barthold Mahler (1874-1956), realtor, builder. Rented after c.1917 to a succession of small businesses. Mahler and wife. Meta Brunjes (1868-1957), natives of Hannover, Germany, lived in the deRosset house...
    • Charlotte Sampson Johnson House

    •  
    • Built for Charlotte Sampson (1838-1888), free black wife of John F. Johnson (d. 1864). Bequeathed to Thomas Wright Strange (1855-1899), city attorney and judge advocate. Used for rental income, the house remained in family for sixty-six years.
    • Martindale House

    •  
    • Built by Henry Martindale (1796-1874), planter, as family residence. His son, Henry Alexander Martindale (1837-1911), truck farmer, made additions to house. Inherited by his daughter, Rebecca Martindale Johnson (1870-1948). House remained in...
    • Thomas Henry Wright Building

    •  
    • Original portion of building erected as rental property for Thomas Henry Wright (1800-1866), physician, merchant, and President of the Bank of Cape Fear. Property remained in Wright family until 1957. Facade altered in 1915 by Henry E. Bonitz,...
    • McCartney House

    •  
    • House built for John Currie McCartney (1858-1937), partner in J.C. McCartney & Son, plumbers; and wife, Laura Ann Grant (1860-1947). Remained in family for forty-nine years.
    • Shrier Building

    •  
    • Commercial building constructed as rental property for Isaac Shrier (1841-1920), native of Germany, clothier and real estate investor; and wife, Betsy Willner (1850-1916), native of Austria. Rented by various tenants, including the Telegraph-Cable...
    • Quince Building

    •  
    • Warehouse constructed by 1835 for the Quince family. During the Civil War occupied by auctioneers who sold goods brought into the port by blockade runners. Remained in Quince family until 1883. Purchased in 1910 by R.R. Stone and remained in family...
    • Freight Warehouse & Office

    •  
    • Built for the Wilmington, Columbia & Augusta Railroad; acquired through merger by the Wilmington & Weldon Railroad and later the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, who added the three-story freight office in 1900. Saved for preservation by Historic...
    • Orton Billard & Pool Rooms

    •  
    • Basement is the only surviving section of Orton Hotel which was built in 1886 for Col. Kenneth Murchison (1831-1906). Billiard and pool rooms, steam laundry, bakery, and bar room installed during the 1888 enlargement by W. A. Bryan, proprietor....

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK