Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Revolutionary
(18 results)



Display: 20

    • Cape Fear Cyclists

    • New Hanover County, North Carolina, bikers, bicycles, races, clubs, elected officials, holidays, Revolutionary War site, historical sites, Cape Fear River, Water St.
    • Seven participants in the Cape Fear Cyclist's Hot 100 Fun Ride string out along Highway 421 on the first leg of their 100 mile ride. The Labor Day weekend ride, with Mayor Don Betz acting as official starter, began at Riverfront Park in downtown...
    • Cornelius Harnett School

    • schools, Cornelius Harnett School, James B. Dudley
    • The Cornelius Harnett School constructed in 1914, and located at 920 N. 6th St. It was named in honor of Cornelius Harnett, the revolutionary patriot. White children were educated there until it closed in 1942. It reopened in 1949 with an...
    • St. James Episcopal Church Graveyard.

    • St. James Episcopal Church, Churches, Cemetery
    • Southwest corner of Fourth and Market streets. Located on the southwest corner of Fourth and Market streets (Block 154), the earliest mention of St. James' Graveyard was in 1781, during the British occupation of Wilmington, although a portion of...
    • Moore's Creek Battleground, Pender County, NC.

    • Moore's Creek Battlefield, Pender County
    • One of the first battles of the American Revolution was fought at Moore's Creek (near Currie, NC, in Pender County) on February 27-28, 1776. It pitted local Patriots against Highland Scottish Loyalists. Former auditorium at Moore's Creek National...
    • Burgwin-Wright House

    • Wilmington, N.C.., Revolutionary War, British Commanders, Colonial Dames, Tourist attractions
    • The 3rd Street side of the Burgwin-Wright House, which was built in 1770-1771, and was once known as the Cornwallis House
    • Ann Eliza McKay Lucas

    • Bladen County (N.C.); Upper class women
    • Head shot of Mrs. Ann Eliza McKay Lucas. Ann Eliza McKay (circa 1850 -1915) was married to Dr. William Lucas. She was a descendant of General McKay of Bladen County and revolutionary war fame. Dr. and Mrs. Lucas had ten children.
    • Fourth Street - 0 block.

    • St. James Episcopal Church, Cemetery, Graves, Fourth Street
    • On the left side is St. James Episcopal Church Graveyard, the site of a 1787 duel between Samuel Swann and John Bradley. Note that the street’s paving material is brick. Southwest corner of Fourth and Market streets. Located on the southwest...
    • Roof view from Trust Building # 3

    • New Hanover County, Businesses, churches, Temple of Israel, Cornwallis House, Revolutionary War, Spires, Market St., St. James Church, Episcopalian, banks
    • A combined view of downtown Wilmington taken from the roof of the Trust Building, looking East, 1912-1915.
    • Wilkinson Alley

    •  
    • Named for William Wilkinson, Colonial merchant and part owner of a rum distillery, who was a constable and Justice of the Peace. During the Revolutionary War, he served as deputy chairman of the Wilmington-New Hanover County Committee of Safety. ...
    • Roof View from the Atlantic Trust Building, #1

    • banks, Revolutionary War, Episcopal churches, Oscar Pearsall,
    • The view from the roof of the Trust Building, looking East towards 3rd St between 1912-1915. This downtown view (East and North) shows the Colonial Apartments (built in 1903-04), Court House, YMCA (built in 1912-13), Lord Cornwallis House, St....
    • Thomas S. Kenan

    • Soldiers--Confederate States of America; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    • Studio photograph of Thomas S. Kenan. Colonel Thomas Stephen Kenan (1838-1911) was a Confederate soldier and later a politician in North Carolina. He was the great-grandson of Revolutionary war general James Kenan, namesake of Kenansville. ...
    • Hilton Park - City of Wilmington water works.

    • Hilton Park, Water Works, Railroad
    • The railroad bridge across the Northeast Cape Fear River can be seen at left. Hilton Railroad Bridge over the Cape Fear River. Hilton Park, located on Wilmington's north side, was named for the Hill family, who owned Hilton Plantation. The Hills...
    • Burgwin-Wright House

    • historic houses, tourist attractions, 18th century, decorative iron fence, gates, magnolia tree
    • Modern view of the front of the Burgwin-Wright House at the corner of 3rd and Market Streets. Built in 1770, it is a good example of an eighteenth century townhouse. It was the British General Cornwallis' headquarters during the Revolutionary War.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK