Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Originally
(62 results)



Display: 20

    • Dave Nathans

    • Churches; Historic preservation
    • Dave Nathans standing in front of what is probably St. Andrews' Presbyterian church during his work on its restoration. Dave Nathans, originally a contractor with Urban Building Development, became involved in the preservation and restoration at...
    • Wilmington High School, Originally Tileston Elementary School

    • high schools, Wilmington High School, Tileston Elementary School, James Walker, John A. Fox, Architects, Ann Street
    • Located at 400 Ann St., between South 4th and 5th Streets, Wilmington High School originally opened as the Tileston Normal School in 1872. John A. Fox was and James Walker (Supervising) were the original architects. It has since changed names and...
    • McCulloch B. Wilson House

    •  
    • Originally built in bungalow-style for McCulloch Brogden Wilson (1884-1969), auditor for the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad; and wife, Alma Kate Peschau (1890-1929). House enlarged in 1932 to Dutch Colonial Revival style after Wilson's second...
    • Spencer Compton, Earl of Wilmington

    • Compton, Spencer, Earl of Wilmington, 1673?-1743
    • Steel engraving of Spencer Compton. Spencer Compton, the first (and only) Earl of Wilmington (1673-1743) was elected to the House of Commons in 1698, and became Speaker of that House. He was First Lord of the Treasury under King George II, a...
    • Evans-Mercer-Tusch House

    •  
    • Originally a one-story cottage built for Henry C. Evans (1832-1896), native of Brunswick County. Enlarged to two-stories in 1906 by nephew, John Bascom Mercer (1855-1913), of the shoe firm Mercer & Evans; and wife, May Lilly (1869-1935), native of...
    • Murchison Building

    • Murchison Building
    • At eleven stories, the Murchison-First Union Building is the tallest structure in Wilmington. Built 1913-1914, Wilmington native, Kenneth M. Murchison (1872-1938) of New York, was the architect for the Neoclassical Revival building, which...
    • George Kirby, Ben Chavis, and Angela Davis

    • Chavis, Ben, 1948- ; Kirby, George, ?-1997; Davis, Angela, 1944-
    • Photograph of George Kirby, Ben Chavis and Angela Davis, and unknown supporter. Ben Chavis (1948 - ) is originally from Oxford, North Carolina. He was a minister from the United Church of Christ's Commission for Racial Justice at the time of...
    • Bonnie Murray

    • African American women educators
    • Photograph of Bonnie Murray in the North Carolina Room of the New Hanover County Public Library. Bonnie Murray ( ) was an educator in the New Hanover County School System for 35 years. She was originally from Fayetteville, NC, but has lived in...
    • Summer Tutoring Program

    • African Methodist Episcopal Church; African American--History
    • Children participating in a summer tutorial program sponsored by St. Luke's A.M.E. Zion Church in 1970. St. Luke's A.M.E. Zion Church was started in 1865 as the first African Methodist Episcopal church in Wilmington, NC. Originally called...
    • Joy Welch

    • Carolina Beach (N.C.); Police dispatchers; Oxfordshire (England)
    • Joy Welch working as a dispatcher at the Carolina Beach Police Department. Joy Welch (1947- ) worked as a police dispatcher at the Carolina Beach Police Department in late 1980s. She was originally from Oxfordshire, England, but moved to Carolina...
    • Wilmington Civic Ballet Class

    • Ballet; Wilmington (N.C.)
    • A Wilmington Civic Ballet class about to give their spring recital at Kenan auditorium on the UNC Wilmington campus. Just right of center is Johanna Hickman. Johanna M. Hickman (1981- ) is a native of Wilmington. She graduated from New Hanover...
    • Aerial View of Cape Fear River

    • Cape Fear River, Point Peter, Northeast Memorial Bridge
    • This b&w photograph, which originally appeared in the "Future Land Use Plan" for Wilmington, North Carolina, features an aerial view of the Cape Fear River and downtown Wilmington and includes both Point Peter and the Cape Fear River Bridge.
    • Harbor Island Auditorium.

    • Harbor Island, Auditorium, Hammocks
    • Designed by Henry E. Bonitz (1872-1921), a prominent turn-of-the-century Wilmington architect, the auditorium is bedecked in patriotic bunting to welcome the North Carolina Florist Association. Originally called, "The Hammocks," Harbor Island was...
    • Naval Training Station, "Hammocks," 1917

    • Navy, training station, Hammocks, Harbor Island
    • Naval Training Station at Hammocks (or Harbor Island), 1917 Originally called, "The Hammocks." Harbor Island was an uninhabited low lying island of sand dunes, surrounded by marsh and Wrightsville Sound on the North and southwest, and Banks Channel...
    • Mary Alice Jervay

    • African American Newspapers; African American women; African American--history
    • Photograph of Mary Alice Jervay. Mary Alice McNeill Jervay (1874-1948) was the wife of Robert Smith Jervay, who started a Wilmington weekly newspaper for African American readers in 1927 called "The Cape Fear Journal." She was originally a...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK