Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Grace
(60 results)

Display: 20

    • Grace Methodist Church, 4th and Grace Streets

    • churches, Methodist Churches, Grace United Methodist Church, Front St., Grace St.
    • Showing the bell tower of Grace Methodist Church at 4th and Grace Sts. Originally started as Front Street Methodist Church in 1796. After a horrible fire in 1886, the church moved to what is now 4th and Grace. The church burned again on March 21,...
    • Grace Church Sunday School Annex

    • The only portion of Grace Methodist Church to survive the 1947 fire, was dedicated on January 14, 1917, during the tenure of the Reverend M. T. Plyler. Building committee members were R. C. Merritt, chairman, J. E. Willoughby, J. T. King, T. A....
    • Grace Methodist Church

    • churches, Methodist churches, Grace Methodist Church, 4th St.
    • Located at 4th and Grace Streets-construction began in 1887 the church was dedicated in 1890. Worship services were held at the Temple of Israel until construction was completed. In honor of the church, "Mulberry" St. was changed to "Grace" Street,...
    • Grace Methodist Church, 1888

    • churches, Methodist churches, Grace Methodist Church, Grace Street, 4th Street
    • Construction began in 1887 and was dedicated in 1890. Worship services were held at the Temple of Israel until construction was completed. In honor of the church, "Mulberry" St. was changed to "Grace" Street, in 1895. A new Sunday School Annex,...
    • Barbara Grace Hunter

    • Cape Fear Garden Club (Wilmington, N.C.)--History
    • Photograph of Barbara Hunter at the Temple Garden in Landfall. Barbara Grace Hunter (2005- ) has lived in Wilmington most of her life. She is the daughter of Cheryl D. Hunter, who was the Historian for the Cape Fear Garden Club in 2013. She...
    • William G. Craig House

    • Queen Anne style house built for William Gaston Craig (1861-1956), native of Alamance County, NC; and wife, Sarah Frances (1867-1958), native of Goldsboro, NC. He was an inspector for Atlantic Coast Line Railroad car building department. House was...
    • Susan Eugenia Beery Moore

    • Upper class women; Charity organization; Grace United Methodist Church (Wilmington, N.C.)
    • Portrait of Susan Eugenia Beery Moore. Susan Eugenia Beery Moore ()1849-1925) was the daughter of Benjamin Beery. Eugenia was a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal Church through most of her childhood and early adulthood and later joined...
    • Hale-Henderson House

    • Dutch Colonial Revival style house built for John W. Hale, bookkeeper; and wife, Lona Allen. From 1930 to 1968, occupied by William Harman Henderson (1887-1971), Assistant Vice-president of Traffic for the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad; and wife,...
    • A.C. Diehl House

    • Cottage built for Arthur Chester Diehl (1884-1946), vice-president of Naco Fertilizer Company, a subsidiary of W.R. Grace, Company; and wife, Victoria Lynch (1901-1969). They were natives of New York.
    • Swinson-Dowe House

    • Craftsman style bungalow built for Albert Franklin Swinson (1883-1954), native of Sampson County, bookkeeper; and wife, Mary Blair (1890-1934). Purchased in 1969 by Irving Dowe (1930- ), maintenance foreman for The Wilmington Star News; and wife...
    • NCRPC0954

    • North Carolina Shipbuilding Company
    • Launching party for the S.S. Santa Barbara on Jan. 24, 1946. Pictured left to right are Phillip B. Iglehart, vice president of Grace Line, Inc.; Arthur C. Diehl, vice president of Naco Fertilizer Co.; Mr. Alan Corey, Jr.; Godfrey MacDonald,...
    • Steven Jewett House

    • Greek Revival style house built for Stephen Jewett (1805-1862), native of Maine, cabinetmaker and cashier for the Bank of Wilmington; and wife, Lucy A. Bradley (1819-1898). Remained in family for forty-seven years. In 1989 saved for preservation...
    • Kuck House

    • Queen Anne style house built for John Henry Kuck (1865-1947), grocer, ships store merchant, owner of Wilmington Hosiery Mills; and wife, Dena Dorothy Bokelmann (1875-1965). They were natives of Hannover, Germany. Remained in family until 1948....
    • Lazarus-Hill-Divine House

    • Federal style house built for Aaron Lazarus (1777-1841), wealthy merchant and influential citizen. Purchased 1854 by Frederick J. Hill (1792-1861), physician, planter, and NC senator. Remodeled in Greek Revival and Italianate styles with entrance...


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search