Feast of Pirates, Parade, N. Third Street, City Hall, Thalian Hall
“Stamp Defiance, 1766" float in Feast of Pirates parade in front of a reviewing stand at City Hall in 1928.
Thirteen young Wilmington girls were waiting to ride the float, each representing an American Colony.
Championship YMCA basketball team of 1914-1915
The YMCA first opened in Wilmington in 1891 at Front and Grace, and moved in 1913 to it's location at Market and Third where it had a game room, gym with a track, kitchen, lockers, assembly hall and a...
This sample is located inside the front cover of the writing journal of Eliza Henrietta Owen, daughter of General James Owen. It was written by their slave Uncle Moreau, who could read and write Arabic.
Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Lumina, Lumina Pavilion
A large gathering on the beach in front of Lumina. Note movie screen on left.
Wrightsville Beach was named for Joshua Grainger Wright (1758-1811) who owned a vast amount of acreage along the sounds and the coast. The beach is a part of the North...
Pomander Walk Apartments, Lumina, Lumina Pavilion, Wrightsville Beach, Beaches
Wrightsville Beach, Pomander Walk Apartments in front of Lumina.
Pomander Walk Cottages were located on the western side of Lumina (shown in the background). In 1930, the twenty cottages, built on this site replaced a "Tent City," a project of the...
Lumina Pavilion, Lumina, Wrightsville Beach, Beaches
In 1901, the beach car line from Wilmington to Wrightsville Beach was sold by the Wilmington and Seacoast Railroad to the Consolidated Railways, Light and Power Company (later the Tidewater Power Co.) and shortly thereafter, the line was converted...
Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Lumina, Lumina Pavilion, Race
A crowd watches a foot race on the beach in front of Lumina.
In 1901, the beach car line from Wilmington to Wrightsville Beach was sold by the Wilmington and Seacoast Railroad to the Consolidated Railways, Light and Power Company (later the...