Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Formerly
(25 results)



Display: 20

    • Bellevue Cemetery.

    • Bellevue Cemetery, Cemeteries, Graves
    • The cemetery, incorporated in 1872, is located on Princess Place Drive (formerly the Old New Bern Road), west of Burnt Mill Creek, and contains about fifteen acres. The date of the first burial is unknown, but by April of 1878, there appears...
    • Municipal Golf Course - Pine Grove Drive.

    • Municipal Golf Course, Pine Grove Drive, Winter Park
    • In 1925, the Wilmington City Council acknowledged the growing popularity of golf and the need for a public golf course in the area. They hired distinguished golf architect, Donald Ross, to design links at Winter Park on land formerly owned by Hugh...
    • Depression Era

    • Great Depression
    • Notation on back of photo: "Vacant city land helps to reduce the relief load. This area formerly dedicated to weeds now produces food for a family 'on relief.'"
    • Oceanic Hotel

    • resorts, North Carolina, Banks Channel, hotels, Wrightsville Beach
    • The Oceanic Hotel at Wrightsville Beach, N.C. was formerly the Tarrymore Hotel. When it was sold and renamed the Oceanic, the existing building was enlarged, and a four-story tower was added. It was one of the social centers of the beach. The...
    • Old Hotel at Hammocks and Oceanic Hotel

    • hotels, Oceanic, Island Beach Hotel, Hammocks, Harbor Island
    • This page from a scrapbook features images of the Oceanic Hotel and the Island Beach Hotel. Formerly the Hotel Tarrymoore, the hotel initially opened in 1905 and was renamed the Oceanic in 1911. Located on the Hammocks (later known as Harbor...
    • Southport, NC - Brunswick County, NC.

    • Smithville, Southport, Brunswick County, Brunswick Hotel, Quarantine Service Station
    • Incorporated in 1805, the Town of Southport was formerly known as Smithville, and was named for General Benjamin Smith (1751-1826). The name was changed in 1889, because it was the most southerly seaport in North Carolina. It became the county seat...
    • Dr. William Madison Randall

    • William Madison Randall Library; Wilmington College; University of North Carolina, Wilmington
    • Photograph of Dr. William Madison Randall. Dr. William Madison Randall (1899-1984) was born in Michigan. He received an A.B. and an A.M. degree from the University of Michigan and a Ph.D from Hartford Theological Seminary. Dr. Randall served as...
    • Historic District Commission

    •  
    • Photograph of the Brooks Warehouse site, at the foot of Orange Street in what would become Claude Howell Park. The construction probably has to do with the River Walk in Wilmington, NC. Left to right: Unknown, Claude Howell, Isabel Letho, Rev....
    • Human Relations Commission Staff

    •  
    • Photograph of the Human Relations Commission Staff. Front row, left to right: Mary Owens, July Fussell, Pat Melvin, Cathy Morgan. Standing, left to right: Dave Jackson, Bill Jessup, John Davis. Formerly known as the Bi-Racial Committee, the Human...
    • Latimer Slave Quarters

    •  
    • Eleven enslaved people were housed here and in another attached building that was formerly the workshop of R.B. and J.C. Wood, brick masons. After Emancipation, house servants lived here until about 1920. From 1976 to 1979, the building was...
    • Dr. William Wagner

    • School superintendents
    • Photograph of Dr. Wagner sitting at his desk. Dr. William Wagner (1927-1999) attended Washington High School and served in the U.S. Navy from 1945-1946. He received a Master's degree from East Carolina University and a Doctorate in Educational...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK