Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Bridgers
(19 results)



Display: 20

    • Preston Louis Bridgers

    • Commercial agents; Consuls
    • Portrait of Preston Louis Bridgers. Preston Bridgers (1856-1902) was born in Tarboro, NC, the son of Colonel Robert Rufus Bridgers. Bridgers came to Wilmington, NC with his family at a young age and was educated in both public and private schools...
    • Robert Rufus Bridgers

    • Confederate States of America. Congress. Senate. Committee on Military Affairs
    • Robert Rufus Bridgers (1819-1888) was born on a farm in southwestern Edgecombe county. He graduated with distinction from the University of North Carolina in 1841 and was a charter member of the university's alumni association in 1843. After...
    • Home of Mrs. Preston L . Bridgers

    • Bridgers family, 3rd Street, Dock Street
    • Located at 100 South 3rd Street, (and Dock Streets), the home of Mary Bridgers (granddaughter of John Haywood, treasurer of North Carolina and descendant of Richard Eagles whom Eagles Island is named after) and widow of Preston L. Bridgers, son of...
    • Bridgers House

    •  
    • Neoclassical Revival style house built for Elizabeth Eagles Haywood (1857-1932), widow of Preston L. Bridgers. Remained in Bridgers family until 1944. Headquarters of American Legion Post #10 from 1944 to 1972.
    • Bridgers-Brooks House

    • J. W. Brooks, Mary Bridgers, Market Street, Neoclassical Revival
    • Construction for the Neoclassical Revival structure began under Mary Bridgers in 1910. After she died on November 10, 1910 in a fall at the construction site, J. W. Brooks purchased the property.The building was completed in 1911.
    • Dr. Harlee Bellamy

    • Bellamy family, physicians
    • Dr. Robert Harllee Bellamy, son of Marsden and Harriet Harllee Bellamy, was born February 21, 1880 in Wilmington, North Carolina. He married Miss Lucy Williams Bridgers in 1912. His grandfather, John Dillard Bellamy, was also a Physician. He...
    • Confederate Memorial Monument - 1924.

    • Civil War, Monument, Confederacy, Bacon, Boney, S. Third Street, Dock Street
    • Designed by Henry Bacon, the monument, located on the plaza at intersection of South Third and Dock streets was donated to the City of Wilmington in 1924, by Gabriel Boney. The sculptor of the two bronze figures, representing courage and...
    • First Church of Christ, Scientist

    • 17th St., Market St., Church of Christ Scientist, churches, Mary Bridgers, Carolina Heights, neoclassic
    • This building was built in 1907, on the Southeast corner of 17th and Market Streets, in the neoclasical revival style. Four columns dcorate the front along with arched windows. When the church moved to a new site Temple Baptist Church bought the...
    • Bridgers-Fulenwider House

    •  
    • Neoclassical Revival style house built for Burke Haywood Bridgers (1881-1972), attorney; and wife, Helen Strange (1888-1953). At the time of death he was the oldest member of the Cape Fear Country Club where he designed the original 18 hole...
    • Bridgers-Townes House

    •  
    • One of two identical shingle style houses built as investment property for Eliza Eagles Haywood Bridgers (1857-1932). Purchased in 1919 by William Armistead Townes (1870-1942), attorney for Atlantic Coast Line Railroad; and wife, Louise Rutland...
    • Bridgers-Watters House

    •  
    • One of two identical shingle style houses as investment property for Eliza Eagles Haywood Bridgers (1857-1932). Purchased in 1919 by Annie Eloise Dawson Watters (1860-1950), native of Dublin, Ireland. Remained in family for forty-two years.
    • First Church of Christ Scientist

    • churches, Christ Scientist, 17th Street, Market Street, Temple Baptist Church, Baptist churches
    • The First Church of Christ Scientist, located on the Southeast corner of 17th and Market Streets, was constructed in 1907. The first congregation was organized by Mary Bridgers (1866-1910), a devout founding member who purchased 32 acres of land on...
    • Strausz House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built by Alexander Strausz (born c. 1849), native of Hungary, partner in Cape Fear Building Co.; and wife, Annie Young (1837-1889). Purchased in 1876 by Rudolph E. Heide (1832-1895), commission merchant and vice-consul for...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK