Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Boney
(41 results)



Display: 20

    • Boney Family Architects

    • Architects--North Carolina-- Biography
    • Family photograph of the Boneys. From right to left: Leslie Norwood Boney, Sr., Leslie Boney, Jr., William Joseph Boney, Charles Hussey Boney, Paul Boney in front. Leslie Norwood Boney (1880-1964) was a well-known and respected architect in...
    • Melva Boney Carr Pearsall

    • Duplin County (N.C.); Upper class women; National Society Daughters of the American Revolution of North Carolina
    • Photograph of Miss Melva Boney Carr at Queens College, age 13-14. Melva Boney Carr Pearsall (1892-1990) was born in Rose Hill, Duplin County, NC. She is the child of Charles Carr and his wife Annie Boney. She taught in Charlotte, NC for several...
    • New Hanover High School

    •  
    • Newclassical Revival style school opened in 1922 with an enrollment of 840 students, the largest in North Carolina. Leslie N. Boney, architect, designed the wings, 1930; the Princess Street gymnasium, 1940; and Brogden Hall, 1954. Notable students...
    • Williston High School

    •  
    • Begun in 1865 by the Freedman's Bureau as an elementary school for blacks; then operated by the American Missionary Association and named for Massachusettes benefactor Samuel Williston. It became the city's first public school for blacks when...
    • Forest Hills School

    •  
    • Built to consolidate East Wilmington, Kirkland, Middle Sound and Masonboro schools. With rapid development of Forest Hills, it became the neighborhood school. The original one-story building contained seven classrooms, an auditorium and a library....
    • Confederate Memorial Monument - 1924.

    • Civil War, Monument, Confederacy, Bacon, Boney, S. Third Street, Dock Street
    • Designed by Henry Bacon, the monument, located on the plaza at intersection of South Third and Dock streets was donated to the City of Wilmington in 1924, by Gabriel Boney. The sculptor of the two bronze figures, representing courage and...
    • Golf links - Cape Fear Country Club.

    • Cape Fear Country Club, Golf
    • The Cape Fear Country Club was organized March 21, 1896. Its first clubhouse was at Hilton Park. In 1898, the clubhouse was moved to a new location beside the railroad tracks, near the Fourth Street Bridge. In 1901, two hundred acres east of the...
    • Latimer Slave Quarters

    •  
    • Eleven enslaved people were housed here and in another attached building that was formerly the workshop of R.B. and J.C. Wood, brick masons. After Emancipation, house servants lived here until about 1920. From 1976 to 1979, the building was...
    • Herbert McKim

    • Wrightsville Beach (N.C.); Architects
    • Photograph of retiring Chamber of Commerce President Herbert McKim (right) accepting an award of appreciation from Howard A. Penton, Jr., incoming Chamber president. Herbert Pope McKim (1928-2010) was born in Robesonville, NC. He received his...
    • Harper-Newbold House

    •  
    • Neoclassical Revival style house built for Captain James Thomas Harper (1843-1915), steam tug operator, co-founder of Boney & Harper Milling Company and proprietor of Wilmington Steam Laundry; and wife, Anne Sophie Drew (1844-1913). House was a...
    • Blomme House

    •  
    • Bungalow built for Charles R. Blomme (1870-1942), draftsman for Leslie N. Boney, architect; and wife, Leida Whitney (1868-1941), native of Charleston, SC. Purchased in 1975 by Robert Lee Joe (1930- ), employee with Corbett Pakage Company; and...
    • St. Andrews-on-the-Sound Episcopal Church.

    • St. Andrews Church, Churches, Wrightsville Avenue, Oleander Drive, Airlie Road
    • Today, located at the intersection of Wrightsville Avenue, Oleander Drive and Airlie Road, the church is the successor to Mount Lebanon Chapel located on the Airlie grounds. The present building was consecrated in 1924 and is in the Spanish Mission...
    • Cape Fear Country Club Golf Course.

    • Cape Fear Country Club, Golf
    • Cape Fear Country Club Golf Course. Note unusual elevated golf tee. The Cape Fear Country Club was organized March 21, 1896. Its first clubhouse was at Hilton Park. In 1898, the clubhouse was moved to a new location beside the railroad tracks,...
    • Cassidey-Harper House

    •  
    • Built as family residence by James Cassidey (1792-1866), native of Salisbury, MA, who with his sons operated an extensive shipyard and marine railway at river below house. Confederate ironclad RALEIGH was constructed there. His daughter, Anne E....

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK