Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Architect
(139 results)



Display: 20

    • Tileston School

    •  
    • The original Italianate style center section was financed by philanthropist Mary Tileston Hemenway (1820-1894) and designed by John A. Fox, both of Boston, MA; James Walker, local supervising architect; Strausz & Rice of Wilmington, builders. ...
    • Tileston School

    •  
    • The original Italianate style center section was financed by philanthropist Mary Tileston Hemenway (1820-1894) and designed by John A. Fox, both of Boston, MA; James Walker, local supervising architect; Strausz & Rice of Wilmington, builders....
    • John A. Moore

    • Moore, John A.; African American architects
    • Head shot of John A. Moore. John A. Moore (1888-1939) was born in Rock Hill, NC. During his lifetime he worked as an architect, contractor, and carpenter. He worked in DC as an architect in the Supervising Architect's Office in the U.S....
    • Portrait of James Walker, Architect

    • Walker family, Architects, Builders, Philanthropists, University of North Carolina at Wilmington, portraiture
    • This portrait of James Walker can be found hanging on a wall at UNC-Wilmington. James Walker, (1826-1901) was born in Scotland and came to the U.S. (New York), with his brother at the age of 12. He started out as a stone mason, then later moved to...
    • Oakdale Cemetery - Monument of Henry Bacon.

    • Oakdale Cemetery, Cemeteries, Graves, Henry Bacon
    • Monument is to Henry Bacon (1866-1924), who spent his childhood in Wilmington while his father, Henry Bacon, Sr. (1822-1891), was the chief engineer for the "Rocks", a Federal navigation project (begun in 1875) to close New Inlet near Federal...
    • Thalian Hall - 300 block of Princess Street.

    • Thalian Hall, City Hall, Princess Street, N. Third Street
    • Clothing collected for the poor during the Depression years. Entrance of Thalian Hall and steps. Wilmington's impressive City Hall and attendant theater, Thalian Hall, was authorized by the Wilmington Board of Alderman in 1854. John Trimble, a New...
    • St. Paul's Lutheran Church

    • churches, St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Lutheran churches
    • St. Paul's Lutheran Church, located at 603 Market Street, was built during 1859-1869. H. Vollers was the Architect, and James F. Post was the Supervising Architect. The 1907-08 addition was built by Joseph Schad. Gothic Revival style.
    • Thalian Hall - 300 block Princess Street.

    • Thalian Hall, City Hall, Princess Street, N. Third Street
    • During the Depression years, clothing was collected for the poor. Thalian Hall entrance and steps. Wilmington's impressive City Hall and attendant theater, Thalian Hall, was authorized by the Wilmington Board of Alderman in 1854. John Trimble, a...
    • St. James Episcopal Church, 1844

    • churches, Episcopal churches, St. James Episcopal Church, South Third Street
    • St. James Episcopal Church, located at One South Third Street, was acquired by the congregation from Armand deRosset (the rest of the land was acquired over the years). It's design and construction involved at least 10 different architects and...
    • U.S. Post Office (1889-1891) - rear view.

    • Post Office, N. Front Street, Chestnut Street
    • The post office is viewed from north Second Street across Post Office Park. The park was a gathering place for local citizens. During the World Series, the park was very popular, especially before radio became wide-spread. Crowds would congregate...
    • U.S. Post Office Building (1889-1891).

    • Post Office, N. Front Street, Chestnut Street
    • The massive stone post office with tower and fine Romanesque detailing was built on this site in 1889-91. The architect of the building was W. A. Freret, supervising architect, U.S. Department of the Treasury. Memorial or Armistice Day display is...
    • St. Paul's Lutheran Church

    • churches, Lutheran churches, St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Gothic Revival Style
    • St. Paul's Lutheran Church, located at 603 Market Street, was built during 1859-1869. H. Vollers was the Architect, and James F. Post was the Supervising Architect. The 1907-08 addition was built by Joseph Schad. Gothic Revival style.
    • Princess Street - 300 block.

    • Princess Street
    • View of the north side of the 300 block of Princess Street, with the entrance to Thalian Hall at left. Note house on the corner of the 100 block of north Fourth Street, which was owned by Sarah Bowden. The pavement of Princess Street is made of...
    • North Front Street - 200 block.

    • N. Front Street, Murchison, Chestnut Street
    • Chestnut Street - 100 block - north side The main buildings are (from left) the first floor of the Murchison Building, (built 1913/1914); the Murchison National Bank-Acme Building (1902) and the tall building to the left, the Cape Fear Hotel...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK