Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1901
(41 results)



Display: 20

    • William H. Alderman House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built for William Harriss Alderman (1851-1932), bookkeeper; and wife, Alice Guess Larkins (1852-1905), on property given to them by her parents, William and Belinda Larkins. After Mrs. Aldermans death, the family retained the...
    • James Walker Memorial Hospital - Front view.

    • James Walker Memorial Hospital, Hospitals
    • A contractor, James Walker was a native of Douglas, Lanarkshire, Scotland, who came to Wilmington in 1857, after helping to construct one of the wings of the U. S. Capitol Building and the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, DC. He built the...
    • McGowan House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built for William Andrew McGowan (1867-1948), president-treasurer of the Brunswick Bridge and Ferry Company and Justice of the Peace; and wife, Maude A. Kelly (1869-1960), native of Bladen County.
    • Wright House, John M.

    •  
    • Built by John Maffitt Wright (1869-1906); and wife, Josie Whittaker (1866-1940). Boyhood home of Thomas Henry Wright, (1904-1997), Bishop of The Diocese of East Carolina from 1945 to 1974. House remained in the Wright family until 1960.
    • Dr. Armand John deRosset III

    • deRosset, Armand John, 1807-1897; Oakdale Cemetery (Wilmington, N.C.)
    • Published photograph of Dr. Armand John deRosset III. Dr. deRosset III (1807-1897) was one in a long line of doctors in the deRosset family. He graduated from the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill in 1824 with his A.B. degree and received...
    • View of City-County Hospital 1881

    • City-County Hospital, Community Hospital, hospitals
    • Founded in 1881, the area's first publicly-funded Hospital was the City Hospital,. Located at Tenth and Red Cross Streets, it was accessible by horse or carriage, or from Fourth Street, by a wooden sidewalk. The City-County Hospital was closed in...
    • Sadie Plunkitt Vick

    • Actresses; Musical theater
    • Photograph of Sara Ann Plunkitt Vick. Sara Ann "Sadie" Plunkitt (1873-1957) was born in Manhattan, NY. She grew up in Manhattan and was a member of "The Belle of New York" theatrical company. She performed with the company in numerous productions...
    • Harper-Hundley House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built as investment property for John Allan Taylor (1862-1957), wholesale grocer. Purchased in 1905 by Capt. James Thomas Harper (1843-1915), operator of a tow boat business between Wilmington and Southport and part-owner of...
    • Dr. Tom Green

    • Green family, physicians
    • Dr. Thomas Meares Green (1879-1933), was born March 28th, 1879. He received his M.D. from the University of Maryland in 1901. He died September 14th, 1933.
    • Sprunt and Dudley Mansion

    • Dudley family, Sprunt family, Front St., Nun St., Governors, mansions
    • The stately mansion on the corner of Front and Nun streets has been the home of several prominent families. It is thought to have been constructed about 1825 by Governor Dudley (1789-1855). In 1836, he became the first popularly elected Governor of...
    • Wrightsville Beach - Lumina.

    • Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Lumina, Lumina Pavilion, Movie Screen
    • View from the upper story of the famous pavilion, looking east at bathers in the ocean. Note movie screen at extreme left. Wrightsville Beach was named for Joshua Grainger Wright (1758-1811) who owned a vast amount of acreage along the sounds and...
    • Martin Stevenson Willard

    • Insurance; Legislators--United States; New Hanover County (N.C.). Board of Commissioners; North Carolina. General Assembly
    • Photograph of Martin Willard. Martin Stevenson Willard (1858-1933) was born in Washington, NC. His family fled westward during the Civil War and settled in Wilmington, NC. He was educated in local Wilmington Schools and attended Yale University....
    • James Walker Memorial Hospital

    • hospitals, Doctors, porches, patients,
    • Side view of James Walker Memorial Hospital showing the main building with its white-columned portico , the new colored wing and a large expanse of grassy lawn. The original building was completed on June 1st, 1901.
    • Doc Hall Filling a Prescription

    • Hall family, Pharmacists, pharmacies, Oakdale Cemetery
    • Dr. James Malcolm Hall at his drug store on 5th and Castle Streets, which he owned and operated since 1901. Mr. Hall, otherwise known as "Doc Hall," and "The Mayor of Drypond," (for his active role in civic matters), was born in Sampson County,...
    • Golf links - Cape Fear Country Club.

    • Cape Fear Country Club, Golf
    • The Cape Fear Country Club was organized March 21, 1896. Its first clubhouse was at Hilton Park. In 1898, the clubhouse was moved to a new location beside the railroad tracks, near the Fourth Street Bridge. In 1901, two hundred acres east of the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK