Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1889
(29 results)



Display: 20

    • Toon House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built for William Pinckney Toon (1858-1942); and wife, Emily Mae Glenn (1864-1920), co-owners of Brown and Toon wholesale grocers. Remained in family until 1983.
    • Central Baptist Church

    •  
    • Congregation formed in 1883 under the leadership of the Rev. L.T. Christmas who raised the funds to erect this building five years later. Much of the construction work was done by church members. It is the oldest African-American Baptist church...
    • Wescott Grocery Store & House

    •  
    • Vernacular style store and house built for William Wescott (1840-1896), grocer, native of Brunswick County; and wife, Margaret Glass (1841-1894), native of Nassau, Bahamas. Structure moved back on lot and converted to residence in 1917 for Nathan...
    • Fifth Avenue Methodist Church

    •  
    • Neo-Gothic style church built for congregation organized in 1847 to serve residents in the southern section of the city. This building, which replaced an earlier wooden structure, was dedicated on September 26, 1890. The education building, erected...
    • Yarborough House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style cottage built for Ann E. Harriss Yarborough (1864-1913); wife of John Wesley Yarborough (1850-1924), barber. They were the parents of Americas first internationally acclaimed black opera singer, Catherine Yarborough (1898-1986),...
    • Brady House

    •  
    • Built by Robert Henderson Brady (1859-1936), bricklayer; builder and contractor, for his wife, Willie Wallace (1864-1944), as their family residence. Remained in family until 1979.
    • Cumming-Taylor House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built for Preston L. Cumming, Sr. (1843-1914), saw and planing mill owner; and wife, Virginia Wall Lilly (1848-1892). In 1903, acquired by daughter, Rosa Lilly Cumming (1873-1946), wife of Walker Taylor (1865-1937); moved one...
    • St. Andrews Presbyterian Church

    •  
    • Late Gothic Revival style church built for St. Andrews Presbyterian congregation. Sunday School annex (1910-1911) given by William H. Sprunt (1857-1939). In 1944, congregation merged with Church of the Covenant at Fifteenth and Market streets....
    • Williams-Holladay House

    •  
    • Queen Anne style house built for George W. Williams (1834-1899) as residence for his daughter, Maggie M. Holladay (1865-1899). Her husband William W. Holladay (1865-1940), native of Richmond, VA, designed the elevations of the house. Mrs. Holladay...
    • Williams-MacMillan House

    •  
    • Property acquired in 1842 by NC State Grant to John Williams (1779-1855); bequeathed to his grandson, William Arthur Williams (1850-1917), timber inspector and Clerk for the County Board of Commissioners; and wife, Jane Iredell Meares (1855-1935),...
    • Wright-Murphy House

    •  
    • Federal - Greek Revival style house built for William Augustus Wright (1807-1878), lawyer, General Attorney for Wilmington and Weldon Railroad and President of the Bank of Cape Fear; and wife, Eliza Ann Hill (1813-1895). From 1846 to 1889, the...
    • Lazarus House Kitchen

    •  
    • Built by Aaron Lazarus (1777-1841), a merchant and native of Charleston, SC, as one of two kitchens for his principal residence which still stands to the East. Converted to a residence by 1889. Purchased and enlarged in 1923 by Aaron Goldberg,...
    • Henry Louis Vollers

    • New Hanover County (N.C.). Board of Commissioners; Bankers; Grocery trade
    • Portrait of Henry Vollers. Henry Louis Vollers (1859-1922) was born in Wilmington, NC, the son of German immigrants. Vollers was in the grocery business, a member of the firm of Turrentine, Vollers & Company in 1889. He opened his own wholesale...
    • Southport, NC - Brunswick County, NC.

    • Smithville, Southport, Brunswick County, Brunswick Hotel, Quarantine Service Station
    • Incorporated in 1805, the Town of Southport was formerly known as Smithville, and was named for General Benjamin Smith (1751-1826). The name was changed in 1889, because it was the most southerly seaport in North Carolina. It became the county seat...
    • Old Hotel at Hammocks and Oceanic Hotel

    • hotels, Oceanic, Island Beach Hotel, Hammocks, Harbor Island
    • This page from a scrapbook features images of the Oceanic Hotel and the Island Beach Hotel. Formerly the Hotel Tarrymoore, the hotel initially opened in 1905 and was renamed the Oceanic in 1911. Located on the Hammocks (later known as Harbor...
    • Rankin & Martin Warehouse

    •  
    • Vernacular style warehouse built for Rankin & Martin, naval stores merchants. Purchased in 1889 by Burr & Bailey Ironworks. Acquired in 1902 by Wilmington Towing & Construction Company and occupied by W.B. Thorpe & Company, dealers in coal, wood...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK