Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1888
(99 results)



Display: 20

    • Brockett-Barker-Bell House

    •  
    • Cottage built for James F. Brockett, grocer and watchmaker; and wife, Elizabeth Cruse. E. Gerry Barker, shipbroker, enlarged and remodeled the house in Queen Anne style, c. 1888. Owned by Charles F. Bell family from 1897 to 1982.
    • Major James Reilly House

    •  
    • Greek Revival style house built as investment property for William A. Wright (1807-1878), lawyer. Additions made in 1850 when purchased by Alexander McLennan (1820-1856), store clerk and native of Montgomery County. From 1874 to 1883 residence of...
    • Orton Billard & Pool Rooms

    •  
    • Basement is the only surviving section of Orton Hotel which was built in 1886 for Col. Kenneth Murchison (1831-1906). Billiard and pool rooms, steam laundry, bakery, and bar room installed during the 1888 enlargement by W. A. Bryan, proprietor....
    • Central Baptist Church

    •  
    • Congregation formed in 1883 under the leadership of the Rev. L.T. Christmas who raised the funds to erect this building five years later. Much of the construction work was done by church members. It is the oldest African-American Baptist church...
    • Chadwick House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built during ownership of Susan Hawes Redding (1820-1902), seamstress; and son, Charles Hawes (1837-1893). Rear addition and modifications made by David N. Chadwick (1856-1914), saloon keeper.
    • St. Andrews Presbyterian Church

    •  
    • Late Gothic Revival style church built for St. Andrews Presbyterian congregation. Sunday School annex (1910-1911) given by William H. Sprunt (1857-1939). In 1944, congregation merged with Church of the Covenant at Fifteenth and Market streets....
    • Postcard from Daisy Lovering

    • actress, Hollywood, postcard
    • Front of a postcard from Daisy Lovering to her neices Helen and Susan Lovering. The postcard features an illustration of actress Deanna Durbin's Hollywood home. The reverse side gives Daisy's new address. Daisy (1869-1950) was an actress who...
    • Portrait of Daisy Lovering from Rear

    • actress, studio portrait, theatre
    • Daisy Lovering (1869-1950), aunt of Helen and Susan Lovering, was an actress who performed in theatres around the country. She toured with the Mason and Morgan Duo, performing in cities such as Cass City, Michigan in 1888. She was a head member...
    • Daisy Lovering in Male Costume

    • actress, theatre, stage, costume
    • Studio portrait of Daisy Lovering dressed as a man, with “As I walk along” written across the front. Lovering (1869-1950), aunt of Helen and Susan Lovering, was an actress who performed in theatres around the country. She toured with the Mason...
    • Daisy Lovering in Male Costume Holding Hat

    • actress, theatre, stage, costume
    • Studio portrait of actress Daisy Lovering dressed as a man, with “When pogo was a boy” written across the front. Daisy Lovering (1869-1950), aunt of Helen and Sue Lovering, performed in theatres around the country. She toured with the Mason and...
    • Daisy Lovering in Costume

    • acress, theatre, stage, costume
    • Daisy Lovering (1869-1950), aunt of Helen and Susan Lovering, was an actress who performed in theatres around the country. She toured with the Mason and Morgan Duo, performing in cities such as Cass City, Michigan in 1888. She was a head member...
    • Portrait of a Young Woman

    •  
    • This portrait is probably of actress Daisy Lovering (1869-1950), aunt of Helen and Susan Lovering. She toured with the Mason and Morgan Duo, performing in cities such as Cass City, Michigan in 1888. She was a head member of the ensemble for the...
    • Headshot of Daisy Lovering

    • actress, theatre, studio portrait
    • Daisy Lovering (1869-1950), aunt of Helen and Susan Lovering, was an actress who performed in theatres around the country. She toured with the Mason and Morgan Duo, performing in cities such as Cass City, Michigan in 1888. She was a head member...
    • Wrightsville Beach.

    • Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Banks Channel, Race
    • A crowd gathers to watch races in Banks Channel. Wrightsville Beach was named for Joshua Grainger Wright (1758-1811) who owned a vast amount of acreage along the sounds and the coast. The beach is a part of the North Carolina Banks, a chain of...
    • Bowden House

    •  
    • Family Residence of Lemuel Hanry Bowden (1825-1891), native of New Hanover County, lumber inspector and city alderman. Title was transferred (1888) to his daughter Julia Bowden (1859-1944), who married B. Frank Boykin, stockbroker. She continued to...
    • Orton Hotel

    • hotels, Orton Hotel, Murchison
    • Orton Hotel was built by Col. Kenneth M. Murchison in 1888. James Walker was the general contractor. In 1896 Col. Murchison leased the building to R.W. Wallace and Co. In 1900 the rooms were 2.50-3.50 per day. The hotel was destroyed by fire in...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK