Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1881
(24 results)



Display: 20

    • Jewett-Shepard House

    •  
    • Original Italianate two-story wood-frame house was purchased in 1886 by Susan Lane Jewett (1851-1917), wife of Richard Bradley Jewett (1844-1915), naval stores inspector. They had been in residence here since 1881. Joseph C. Shepard, Jr....
    • View of City-County Hospital 1881

    • City-County Hospital, Community Hospital, hospitals
    • Founded in 1881, the area's first publicly-funded Hospital was the City Hospital,. Located at Tenth and Red Cross Streets, it was accessible by horse or carriage, or from Fourth Street, by a wooden sidewalk. The City-County Hospital was closed in...
    • Honnet House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built on Sunset Hill by George Honnet (1843-1913), native of Baltimore, jeweler and watchmaker; and wife, Marie Otterbourg (1848-1913). Colossal Neoclassical portico added in 1914 by son, George (1880-1962), a jeweler. House...
    • Dr. Murchison with a student nurse at JWMH

    • Murchison family, physicians, medicine, nursing students, hospitals, James Walker Memorial Hospital
    • Dr. David Reid Murchison (1891-), son of Joel William and Loulie Atkinson Muchison, was born August 18th, 1881 in Wilmington, North Carolina. He married May McLaughlin Carmichael and was educated at UNC Chapel Hill (1912). He received his M.D. from...
    • George Rountree

    • Rountree, George, 1855-1942; Lawyers; Member of the General Assembly; North Carolina Bar Association
    • Studio portrait of George Rountree. George Rountree (1855-1942) was born in Kinston, NC. Rountree graduated from Harvard University in 1877, and returned to Kinston to practice law. In 1881, he married Meta Alexander Davis, daughter of George...
    • Steamer Wilmington

    • Steamer Wilmington, steamer, riverboat, Cape Fear River, Capt. John Harper
    • This image, most likely taken from a postcard, captures the Steamer Wilmington built 1881. Capt. John Harper, Pride of Wilmington Excursions Sunday School, every summer.
    • Georgia Etta Orrell McClelland

    • American Legion. Auxiliary; Women
    • Pphotograph of an announcement that Mrs. Georgia Etta McClelland was elected President of the North Carolina Department, American Legion Auxiliary. Georgia Etta Orrell McClelland (1881?-1935) was the wife of Colonel Royce Stanley McClelland. She...
    • Dr. D. R. Murchison

    • Murchison Family, physicians, Medicine
    • Dr. David Reid Murchison (1891-), son of Joel William and Loulie Atkinson Muchison, was born August 18th, 1881 in Wilmington, North Carolina. He married May McLaughlin Carmichael and was educated at UNC Chapel Hill (1912) and received his M.D. from...
    • South Front Street - 400 block.

    • S. Front Street
    • The west side of the 400 block of South Front Street (Block 99) contains from left the Thomas H. Smith House (No. 420), the Meares-Bridgers-Kerchner House(No. 416), the Forshee-Sprunt House (No. 410) and the Governor Dudley Mansion (No. 400). The...
    • Peter Nichols Fick

    • Fire Departments
    • Photograph of Peter Fick in uniform. Peter N. Fick (1853 - 1914) was born in Otterndorf, Province of Hanover, Germany. He and his wife moved from New Jersey to Wilmington, NC in 1881. He was a fireman for the City of Wilmington for 29 years, and a...
    • Frederick Hart Fechtig

    • Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Company; Purchasing agents; Oakdale Cemetery (Wilmington, N.C.)
    • Portrait of Frederick Hart Fechtig. Frederick Hart Fechtig (1865-1951) was born in Hagerstown, MD. He began his career with the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Company in 1881, and over the course of his career, he became its Purchasing Agent....
    • Fox-Holden House

    •  
    • Cottage owned by George A. Fox (b. 1830), native of Pennsylvania, Wilmington & Weldon Railroad engineer; and wife, Julia A. (b. 1841), native of South Carolina. Purchased in 1881 by Sylvanus Holden (d. 1894), carpenter; and wife, Ann Maria Harper...
    • Sutton-Burgwin House

    •  
    • Greek Revival style house built by William Sutton (1805-1885), co-owner of Sutton & Dunham, commission merchants and distillers. Purchased in 1881 by Sally Burgwin. Property remained in family until 1939.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK