Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1872
(28 results)



Display: 20

    • Sampson-Johnson House

    •  
    • Greek Revival style house built by James D. Sampson (1801-1861), free black carpenter. Purchased in 1872 by Fannie Starr (1833-1911), wife of Alexander Johnson (1825-1890), native of Lumberton, turpentine distiller. Acquired by daughter, Miss...
    • Tillie in front of Tileston School

    • Tileston School, Schools, S. Fourth Street, Ann Street
    • Tillie, a Bellamy family slave, later lived over the old kitchen at the Burgwin-Wright House. St. Mary's Catholic Pro-Cathedral is in the background. The original school building in the middle of the block was constructed in 1871-1872 with funds...
    • Dr. John G. Murphy, E.E.N. & T

    • Murphy family, physicians, hospitals, James Walker Memorial Hospital
    • Dr. John Gerald Murphy (1872-1882), was born September 18th, 1872. He was educated at University of North Carolina (1901) and The University of Louisville, where he received his M.D. in 1903. He practiced medicine from 1904-1932. Notable...
    • Fennell-Croom House

    •  
    • Built by former Confederate Army Captain, Owen J. Fennell (1832-1910) as his residence. He was a local merchant and Justice of the Peace. Purchased by M.F. Croom in 1892 and remodeled. Remained in family until 1931.
    • Manning-Toon House

    •  
    • Built by Edward W. Manning, Commander of Steamer General Howard, as his residence. In 1872 sold for residence to Benjamin J. Cobb, M.D., who had office in separate building in northwest corner of front yard. Purchased in 1880 by William Pinckney...
    • Fourth and Market streets, intersection.

    • Fourth Street, Market Street, First Baptist Church, Temple of Israel, Churches, Wilmington Light Infantry, Armory
    • The Harnett Obelisk (center), just east of the center of the intersection of Market and Fourth streets, was erected by the North Carolina Society of the Colonial Dames in 1906, to the colonial heroes of the Lower Cape Fear, including Cornelius...
    • Dr. Frank Russell

    • Russell family, physicians, Havens family
    • Dr. Frank Havens Russell (1872-1915), son of Thomas and Fanny B. Havens Russell, was born in Robeson County, North Carolina, May 6th, 1872. He married Roberta Lilly, October 31st, 1894. He had a grandson, Frank B. Reynolds, who was also a Physician...
    • Bellevue Cemetery.

    • Bellevue Cemetery, Cemeteries, Graves
    • The cemetery, incorporated in 1872, is located on Princess Place Drive (formerly the Old New Bern Road), west of Burnt Mill Creek, and contains about fifteen acres. The date of the first burial is unknown, but by April of 1878, there appears...
    • William A. French House

    •  
    • William A. French (1835-1907), a boot and shoe merchant, lived on this site. On May 10, 1871, fire destroyed the original structure. In November 1871, Mr. French completed the present structure; the plans drawn by Alex Strausz. The property...
    • Dr. Andrew Harriss

    • Harriss family, physicians, Obstetricians, Oakdale Cemetery
    • Dr. Andrew Howell Harriss, son of George Harriss and Julia Ophelia Sanders Harriss, was born March 7th, 1872 in Wilmington, North Carolina. He married Miss Mary Montgomery Wilcox Bolles October 14th, 1896. His grandfather, William James Harris was...
    • Kahnweiler-Duls House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built as investment for David Kahnweiler (1827-1899), dry goods merchant and inventor of cotton seed huller; and wife, Mina (b. 1840), natives of Bavaria. After successive owners it was purchased in 1904 as rental property by...
    • Grant-Stevenson House

    •  
    • North wing, c. 1875, built for Ruben Grant (1810-1880), Methodist minister; and wife, Sarah Ann Dawson (1823-1888). South wing, c. 1872, built for James C. Stevenson (1847-1907), wholesale grocer; and wife, Elizabeth J. Smith (1850-1919). Son,...
    • Oakdale Cemetery - Confederate Monument.

    • Oakdale Cemetery, Cemeteries, Confederate Monument
    • This monument marks the graves of over four hundred unknown Confederate Soldiers. The bronze soldier on a large pedestal was designed by William Randolph O'Donovan, sculptor, and executed by Maurice J. Power at his National Art Foundry in New York....

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK