Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: (1934)
(39 results)



Display: 20

    • Greenfield Lake Park - 1934.

    • Greenfield Lake, Easter Egg Hunt, Easter
    • An Easter Egg hunt held at Greenfield. An item in the Wilmington News, 5 April 1934, reported that the public egg hunt was sponsored by the Wilmington Lions Club. Photographs of the "throng of 2,000 children" were taken by Louis T. Moore...
    • Greenfield Lake Park - 1934.

    • Greenfield Lake, Easter Egg Hunt
    • An Easter Egg hunt held at Greenfield. An item in the Wilmington News, 5 April 1934, reported that the public egg hunt was sponsored by the Wilmington Lions Club. Photographs of the "throng of 2,000 children" were taken by Louis T. Moore...
    • Greenfield Lake Park - 1934.

    • Greenfield Lake, Easter Egg Hunt, East
    • An Easter Egg hunt held at Greenfield. An item in the Wilmington News, 5 April 1934, reported that the public egg hunt was sponsored by the Wilmington Lions Club. Photographs of the "throng of 2,000 children" were taken by Louis T. Moore...
    • Oceanic Hotel

    • resorts, North Carolina, Banks Channel, hotels, Wrightsville Beach
    • The Oceanic Hotel at Wrightsville Beach, N.C. was formerly the Tarrymore Hotel. When it was sold and renamed the Oceanic, the existing building was enlarged, and a four-story tower was added. It was one of the social centers of the beach. The...
    • Dr. David Thomas

    • Pryse family, physicians, Thomas family, Sheaffer family
    • Dr. David Pryse Thomas (1907-), son of Pyrse and Sarah Jeanette Elias Thomas, was born July 16, 1907 in Scranton, Pennsylvania. He attended Lehigh University (1934) and the University of Pennsylvania, where he earned his M.D. (1938). He married...
    • Elliott-Brown House

    •  
    • Built by Mary Taylor Elliott (1835-1907), native of Fayetteville, NC; widow of William P. Elliott, merchant and co-owner of steamboat line. Earl Williams Brown (1909-1971), a Master Printer, owned the house from 1934 to 1971. Queen Anne style...
    • Edward P. Bailey House

    •  
    • Second French Empire style house built for Edward P. Bailey (1856-1904), native of Sweden and wife, Annie Empie (1858-1915). Mr. Bailey was president of Wilmington Iron Works and a city alderman. Queen Anne style facade added in 1905. Residence of...
    • Moores at Wrightsville Beach

    • Moore, Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Ocean Avenue
    • Florence Kidder Moore and her daughters, Florence Moore Dunn and Margaret (Peggy) Moore Perdew pose among sea oats on a sand dune in front of the Moore cottage on Ocean Avenue at Wrightsville Beach. Ocean Avenue is no longer there, lost to severe...
    • Ethyl-Dow Chemical Plant - Federal Point.

    • Ethyl-Dow, Chemical Plant, Federal Point, Bromine
    • Built in 1934, the chemical plant was located on Dow Road, which follows the eastern bank of the Cape Fear River on the Federal Point peninsula. The company was a bromine extraction plant, the only facility of its kind in the nation and supplied a...
    • Reuben Grant Cottage

    •  
    • Cottage built for Reuben Grant (1818-1880), native of Onslow County, Methodist minister and longtime member of Fifth Street Methodist Episcopal Church; and wife, Sarah Ann Dawson (1823-1888). Purchased in 1885 by Willie Ann Wood Price (1857-1931),...
    • Gause-Bolles House

    •  
    • Built by Samuel P. Gause (1818-1875), a Wilmington merchant. Sold in 1863 to John Van Sickle (1808-1869), tobacconist. After death of his widow Anna, in 1870, house sold at public auction to Mary McRee Walker Hill. In 1887, it passed to her heir,...
    • Dr. Graham Barefoot

    • Barefoot family, Murray family, physicians, medicine, James Walker Memorial Hospital
    • Dr. Graham B. Barefoot (1900-1967), son of Napoleon Bonaparte and Freddie Blake Barefoot, was born March 1st, 1900, in Columbus County, N.C. His brother, William Frederick, was also a medical doctor. He married Elizabeth Murray and attended Wake...
    • Wrightsville Beach - Oceanic Hotel.

    • Wrightsville Beach, Beaches, Oceanic, Tarrymore, Hotels
    • First known as the Tarrymore Hotel, the building was opened in June 1905. The name was changed to the Oceanic Hotel around 1911/12. The landmark at Station One burned in the tragic fire of February 28, 1934, which destroyed every structure on the...
    • North Front Street, 200 block, east side.

    • N. Front Street, Chestnut Street, Murchison-Acme Building
    • At right on the corner of Front and Chestnut streets is the Murchison National Bank - Acme Building. The bank organized in March 1899, moved into the structure in 1902. Charles McMillen was the architect, with John H. Brunjes, the builder....
    • Thomas Smith House

    •  
    • Italianate style house built by Thomas H. Smith (1833-1887), grocer, native of England. Bought in 1892 by Rachel Letchfield Gore (1833-1914). Her son Albert Gore (1858-1895), merchant; and wife, Bessie Ledford (1865-1934), lived here. Bessie, who...
    • Reaves-Hayes House

    •  
    • House built by William J. Reaves (1861-1917), builder and contractor, as investment property. Hubert Hayes (1895-1982); and wife, Margaret Spell (b. 1900) occupied house from 1934 to 1968. Hayes was a long time member of Wilmington Police...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK